Book Club: How to Be Happy All The Time (Part 1)

I love books.  If someone were to call me a bookworm, I would take it as a compliment.  One of my favorite things about books is sharing them with my friends and family.  And so it is with that thought in mind that I begin a weekly video series that I am unofficially calling Jen’s Book Club.  (Hey, it works for Oprah.)

Every day this week, I will present you with a new paragraph from Paramhansa Yogananda’s book, How to Be Happy All the Time (Wisdom of Yogananda) (v. 1). Here is the first of the five.

“Don’t wait for yourself, your family, or your surroundings to change before you can be happy within yourself.  Make up your mind to be happy within yourself, right now, whatever you are, or wherever you are.”

I think a lot of us think “I’ll be happy when…”  When I get the job, the kids, the car, the husband… you know how it is.  I like this excerpt reminding us that happiness is a state of mind, therefore, we don’t have to put it off one second longer.  Just make up your mind to be happy.  Poof.

It’s simple, but is it easy?  Let me know how you keep a happiness perspective in your daily life in the comments below, or tweet me.

Want more? Click to purchase the book, How to Be Happy All the Time (Wisdom of Yogananda) (v. 1) from Amazon.

Ready for the next video in this series? Click here.

4 comments

Leave a Reply

