Book Club: How to Be Happy All The Time (Part 2)

Every day this week, I will present you with a new paragraph from Paramhansa Yogananda’s book, How to Be Happy All the Time (Wisdom of Yogananda) (v. 1). Here is the second of the five.

“In order to be kind, it is not always necessary to agree about everything.  If you disagree, always remain calm and courteous.  It is human weakness to get andry and scold, but it is divine strength to hold the reigns of your temper and speech.  No matter what provokes you, behave yourself.  By calm silence or by genuine kinds words, show that your kindness is more powerful than the other person’s ugliness.  Before the mellow light of your forgiveness, all the gathered hatred of your enemies will melt away.”

Oo.  Behave yourself.  We used to hear that phrase often as children and less as we are adults, but the simplicity of the message transcends age.  Control your emotions.  There are always reasons to “repay evil with evil”, and sometimes… they are even justified reasons.

But what happens to our body in the process?  How attractive is a scowl?  Are you going to diffuse the situation with a smile or make everyone in the room feel weird?  What could we be focusing on instead of thinking about this bozo?

I gotta be honest, sometimes it feels good to tell someone whats what.  Ha!  So maybe I’m not fully evolved yet, eh?  Well…  I just think some people need a little tough love every now and then.  (Oh geez, I’m my dad.)  Okay, so since I’m not great at this, I’m better at walking away.  Saying something genuinely nice (and not sarcastically nice) in return?  Uhh.  I don’t think I’m there yet.  Can I blame Latina blood?

Eh.  I’ll work on it.

What about you?  Can you be like a duck and just let it roll off?  Let me know how you keep your cool in your daily life in the comments below, or tweet me.  I love talking about this stuff.

Want more? Click to purchase the book, How to Be Happy All the Time (Wisdom of Yogananda) (v. 1) from Amazon.

Missed Part 1 of this video series?  Click here.

Ready for the next video in this series? Click here.

Leave a Reply

